Books like nand2tetris_ _ compsci linux kernel programmierung

Books like nand2tetris_ _ compsci linux kernel programmierung Welcome Computer Science researchers, students, professionals, and enthusiasts! We share and discuss content that computer scientists find interesting. Self-posts and Q&A threads are welcome, but we prefer high quality posts focused directly on graduate level CS material.

Linux kernel 5 We discourage most posts about introductory material, how to study CS, or about careers. Understanding linux kernel For those topics, please consider one of the subreddits in the sidebar instead. • /r/compscivideos: A collection of video content on academic and educational computer science topics.

• /r/math: Despite popular misconceptions, Computer Science is mostly about math. • /r/programming: …but we also


occasionally implement things.

• /r/algorithms: Another computer science subreddit (our hated nemesis, we will fight to the death) If you are new to Computer Science please read our FAQ before posting. Linux kernel hacking A list of book recommendations from our community for various topics can be found here. Does anyone still remember Nand 2 Tetris (aka. Linux kernel build The Elements of Computing Systems), the book where you build a computer from the ground up starting from logic gates and working your up to a high level language? I already read that book and went through the projects years ago. Latest stable linux kernel Now I’m looking for something similar to this book, but more advanced.

Instalar kernel linux Anyone know of any resources? For the hardware side of things, I liked “Computer Organization and Design” by Patterson–I think it’s good for someone who knows the basics of how processors work and wants to learn about things like pipelining and caching.

On the operating systems side of things, the book my operating systems class used was “Operating System Concepts” by Silberschatz, Galvin, and Gagne, though I’m not sure I’d recommend it on its own for originally learning a lot of what’s in it–I think it’s better as a reference. Linux kernel newbies I was able to pick up Computer Organization and Design and write a simple pipelined processor having relatively little experience with Verilog and digital design, but I couldn’t have picked up Operating System Concepts and as easily written an operating system from scratch if I hadn’t been taking a class that also had lectures. Show kernel version linux So hopefully someone else has other recommendations!

Code by Petzold is often recommended with Nand2Tetris, but I’m not sure it’s any more advanced. Kernel linux download Next to Computer Organisation and Design on my shelf I also have Logic and Computer Design Fundamentals by Mano and Kime, and Digital Computer Electronics by Malvino. Linux kernel source code tutorial On the other side next to the dinosaur book I have Tanenbaum, but as you say, there’s quite the abstract gap. Linux kernel kompilieren I also have a book on Linux Kernel Development by Robert Love, which may be a more practical bridge for that gap. It’s fundamentally applied math. Update linux kernel Has nothing to do with computing at the level of hardware.

Linux kernel distribution It the old adage about “computer science is about computers like astronomy is about telescopes” – OP is asking about telescope construction, Knuth is writing about plotting orbits for n-body systems. I mean, a brilliant set of books for really getting to grips with computation, but not hugely helpful on computers. Edit: actually, there’s all the MMIX stuff, but I’m in two minds about that.

Kernel de linux On balance, I think even the MMIX architecture design is not down at the level OP might want, but it is a valuable insight into the assembly-level construction, and the implications of that for hardware. The original MMIX in volume one of TAOCP was a simplistic hypothetical architecture. Linux kernel hacking At the time there was no real standard to go by, even bytes had not yet been standardised to 8 bits. Linux kernel update MMIX used 6 bit bytes, with 5 bytes plus a sign bit for a Word.

I think it’s incorrect to say TAOCP has nothing to do with computing on the hardware level. Que es kernel linux Knuth explicitly created an entire hypothetical hardware architecture so he could do just that. Linux kernel release schedule The book teaches you how to interact with such a machine on an instruction by instruction level and how to apply mathematical processes and algorithms in such an environment. Kernel update linux Higher level language constructs are a different area of study entirely but they do not change what the system they exist in can do. For instance, https://github.

com/L2Program/vMIX/blob/master/vMIX/Machine.hpp I wrote a MMIX machine emulator in C++11 as I went through the first book so I could run all the examples.

Linux update kernel This allowed me to really understand how an MMIX machine works on the hardware level. Download linux kernel source code But it does not even have an assembler, instructions are hard coded into the machines memory bank at C++ compile time. Writing an assembler, to generate instructions from text source is a different area of study, and again writing a simple C-like compiler that generates said assembly is again a different area of study on top of that.

Linux kernel git Neither a human readable assembly or a human readable higher-level language change what the underlying hardware architecture is capable of or how it works. So TAOCP does not give any help with respect to learning about higher-level languages or compilers. Linux kernel source code online Though there are plenty of good resources like TAOCP is to computation on those subjects.

Knuth has said that as he continues with the series the original 1-4a volumes will be re-released with a new MMIX based on a more modern RISC architecture. Linux kernel source browser This will make the lessons learnt from the books directly applicable to modern hardware but it will not fundamentally change the message that is being taught. I’ve read a book called “But How Do It Know?” thats basically explains the same things (logic gates, instructions etc.) Never finished it, because i procastinate like there’s no tomorrow, but I intend on reading it again.

Kernel de linux If you’re looking for a fun and easy to understand book, I definitely recommend it. Edit: due to the nature of it you can predict it being pretty entry-level content. Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement and Privacy Policy (updated). Linux kernel smp © 2016 reddit inc. Kernel log linux All rights reserved.

REDDIT and the ALIEN Logo are registered trademarks of reddit inc. π Rendered by PID 10855 on app-193 at 2016-08-19 16:27:12.646591+00:00 running d5bc05a country code: BR. Site: https://www.reddit.com/r/compsci/comments/4v4o42/books_like_nand2tetris/

banner